PRM announces candidates for 15 parliamentary, state seats in Selangor

KLANG, April 7 — The Parti Rakyat Malaysia (PRM) today announced candidates for 15 of 20 constituencies in Selangor to be contested by the party in the 14th General Election (GE14).

Its president, Ariffin Salimon said the party would contest five parliamentary and 15 state seats in Selangor.

He said the candidates for parliamentary seats were Dennis Wan Jinn Woei (Bangi), Selangor PRM secretary Jenice Lee Ying Ha (Pandan), Santokh Singh (Klang) and S. Manikavasagam (Kapar).

“For the state seats, the candidates are Dennis Wan in Kajang, Jenice Lee (Teratai), Santokh Singh (Bandar Baru Klang), Manikavasagam (Selat Klang), Ti Thong Siew (Sementa), N.Gandhi (Meru) Tan Choon Swee (Banting).

“Other state seat candidates are M. Telai Amblam (Sentosa), Norizwan Mohamed (Pandan Indah), Hanafiah Husin (Sungai Kandis) and Mohammad Salleh Karman (Bukit Melawati),” he said in a press conference after officiating the PRM office in Kapar here today.

However, PRM would only announce candidates for state seats in Taman Templer, Kuang, Rawang and Sungai Tua as well as the Selayang parliamentary seat after the dissolution of the Selangor state assembly, scheduled this Monday, to give way for the GE14, he said.

Apart from Selangor, PRM would also field candidates in Kedah, Penang and Sabah, he said.

Meanwhile, Manikavasagam, who announced that he quit the Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) in a letter dated April 3, said he was happy to be back at the PRM, the party where he started his political career in 1999. — Bernama