KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 26 — Mondelēz International, the manufacturer of Toblerone and Daim brand chocolates, clarified today that the ingredients used in the two products are suitable for Muslim dietary requirements.
The United States-based multinational food company said the two products do not contain a halal logo since they are produced in countries that do not require such certification.
“Mondelēz International would like to highlight that all ingredients used to produce and manufacture our said chocolates are suitable and safe for the Muslim diet,” it said in a statement.
The company also said that the Department of Islamic Development Malaysia (Jakim) has clarified that a food with no halal certification does not necessarily be haram, or forbidden under the religion.
“Although Toblerone and Daim chocolates are produced in countries that do not require halal certifications, our products meet the dietary requirements of consumers around the world,” it said.
Toblerone is produced in Bern, Switzerland, while Daim is originally from Sweden.
The snack brand said it will continue to work with relevant authorities including Jakim to ensure its products fulfill Malaysian requirements.
Mondelēz also urged customers to refer to the ingredients list that is already printed on its products’ pack.
Last week, Jakim cautioned Muslims against consuming the Toblerone and Daim chocolates as the two brands were not certified to be halal.
In a posting on its Facebook, the federal Islamic authority’s halal hub division said both the Swiss and Swedish chocolates have not received halal certification from Jakim or other international certified bodies.