KUALA LUMPUR, Jan 6 — Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim today said that no political turmoil is taking place in Sabah, and that everything is under control.

He said he had asked Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Seri Hajiji Noor to have a discussion with political party leaders in Sabah.

“I don't see any development, I was just informed that there are some issues and I have asked the chief minister to have a good discussion with friends in Sabah,” he told reporters after performing Friday prayers at the Bukit Aman mosque today.

Anwar added that he had contacted Hajiji, Umno President Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, Warisan president Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal and Sabah Umno chief Datuk Seri Bung Mokhtar Radin over the issue.


“In fact I talked to Ahmad Zahid, Anthony Loke (DAP Secretary General) and it seems that the situation is calm for the time being and I don't think there is any upheaval,” he said.

Yesterday it was rumoured that Warisan and Umno state assemblymen are trying to wrestle the Chief Minister post from Hajiji who is also the Gabungan Rakyat Sabah (GRS) chairman.

Earlier today Berita Harian reported that at least 11 out of 17 Umno state assemblymen had rejected cooperation with Warisan in an attempt to form a new Sabah state government.


The announcement by seven Sabah Pakatan Harapan (PH) assemblymen who stated that they did not give any statutory declaration (SD) to any party, is also believed to affect Warisan and Umno’s cooperation plans to topple Hajiji.

All seven of them had previously also expressed their support for Hajiji to continue to lead the state government until the current State Legislative Assembly (DUN) term ends.

At the moment, Warisan has 19 seats, while Umno-BN has 17 seats, making it 36 seats out of the 79 seats that are available now, including six seats for the Appointed Assemblyman.

That number is not enough without the support of other parties, as PH has seven state assembly seats.

Meanwhile, GRS currently has 29 seats, 15 of which are former members of Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu), seven from Parti Bersatu Sabah (PBS), six from Parti Solidariti Tanah Airku (STAR) and one from Parti Maju Sabah (SAPP).

In addition, GRS is also supported by an independent assemblyman and a Parti Harapan Rakyat Sabah (PHRS) assemblyman.