KUALA LUMPUR, June 16 — Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob announced that all public transport services under RapidKL will be free for one month starting immediately.

He said the move was to help alleviate the cost of living increases Malaysians were currently facing.

“In conjunction with the official opening of the MRT Putrajaya Line Phase One, I am pleased to announce the provision of free services for all public transport under the operation of RapidKL, namely MRT, LRT, BRT, Monorail and RapidKL buses for one month starting today,” he said here today.

In a press conference later, Ismail also announced that the Klang Valley KTM Komuter service will also be free for a month starting today.


“With all these subsidies we provided RM155 million in all to give these free services. I hope this will help the people,” he said

Phase 1 of the MRT Putrajaya line will begin operating at 3pm today, spanning 17.5km in the north of Klang Valley.

The 12 stations that will open are Kwasa Damansara, Kampung Selamat, Sungai Buloh, Damansara Damai, Sri Damansara Barat, Sri Damansara Sentral, Sri Damansara Timur, Metro Prima, Kepong Baru, Jinjang, Sri Delima and Kampung Batu.


Phase 2, from Kampung Batu to Putrajaya, will begin operations next January.