KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 18 — The conditional movement control order (CMCO) will be extended in Kuala Lumpur and Selangor until year end, Defence Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob announced today.

The senior minister (Security Cluster) said that three localities however are exempted, as the areas are already under the recovery movement control order (RMCO). 

The areas are Sabak Bernam, Kuala Selangor and Hulu Selangor.

“On the advice of the Ministry of Health (MoH), the government has agreed to extend the CMCO in Selangor from December 21 until December 31, except in Sabak Bernam, Hulu Selangor and Kuala Selangor which were already imposed with the RMCO,” he said.


He said that until yesterday, 9,426 Covid-19 positive cases were recorded in Kuala Lumpur (KL), with the Ministry of Health (MoH) confirming a significant increase of infection cases there involving non-citizens.

This, he said, was found after screening at work places, which led to the detection of new clusters in KL.

The CMCO in Seremban, Port Dickson and state-wide in Sabah has also been extended.


The enhanced movement control order (EMCO) imposed on the Seremban Prison and its prison quarters has also been extended from December 22 until December 31.

In Johor meanwhile, Ismail Sabri said that the entire state, with the exception of Johor Bahru, Kulai and Batu Pahat would remain under RMCO from December 21 until December 31, while the CMCO enforced on Kota Tinggi will end as scheduled on December 20.

The Kluang Prison and its prison quarters meanwhile will be placed under EMCO from December 19 until December 31, after MoH found increased infection cases among both inmates and workers.