KUALA LUMPUR, July 16 — The government will officially lift the enhanced movement control order (EMCO) for the 34 affected mukim in Selangor at the stroke of 12 tonight, Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob announced this afternoon.

The EMCO covering nearly all of Selangor, barring Sabak Bernam, came into effect on July 3 and was scheduled to last two weeks.

In a statement, Ismail Sabri said that the National Security Council decided not to extend the EMCO in these areas after consultation with the Health Ministry.

The affected areas are: Petaling district (Mukim Petaling, Damansara, Sungai Buloh and Bukit Raja), Hulu Langat district (Mukim Hulu Langat, Ampang, Cheras, Kajang, Semenyih and Beranang), Sepang district (Mukim Dengkil, Labu and Sepang), and Gombak district (Mukim Batu, Rawang, Setapak, Hulu Kelang and Kuang).


The Kuala Langat district covers Mukim Tanjung 12 (1) and Tanjung 12 (2), Teluk Panglima Garang, Morib, Bandar, Jugra and Batu.

Others are: Klang district (Mukim Kapar and Klang), Kuala Selangor district (Mukim Ijok, Bestari Jaya and Jeram), and Hulu Selangor district (Mukim Serendah, Rasa, Ulu Yam and Batang Kali).

Previously, the 34 mukim in Selangor and 14 localities in the Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur were put under EMCO for 14 days effective July 3.


However, the status of the EMCO in Kuala Lumpur was not stated in the statement.

Apart from Selangor, Ismail Sabri said the EMCO in several localities in Kedah, Sabah and Penang would also end tomorrow, while one locality in Negri Sembilan the day after tomorrow.

In Kedah, the EMCO which started on July 4 at Kilang Jimat Jaya Sdn Bhd, Bukit Makmur Light Industrial Area and Workers’ Hostel, Kuala Muda Kedah will end on July 17.

For Sabah, the EMCO in Kampung Emas, Kota Belud, Kampung Iban Kuala Nansang, Tawau and Kampung Babagon, Penampang will also end on July 17.

In Penang, the EMCO in Taman Nagasari, Mukim 6, Seberang Perai Tengah will also end tomorrow.  

Meanwhile in Negri Sembilan, the EMCO in Taman Desaria, Seremban which started on July 5 will end on July 18.

On the National Recovery Plan (NRP), Ismail Sabri said it was the government’s commitment in providing a clear strategy to deal with the Covid-19 pandemic.

“The government has also consistently implemented strict enforcement measures of standard operating procedures (SOP), including compliance operations, control actions and snap checks of business premises and factories.

“Yesterday alone, 180 factories and business premises were taken action for not complying with the SOPs and today, similar action was also take on 65 premises,” he said.

Ismail Sabri, who is also the senior defense minister, added that the government would not compromise if there was a violation of directives and SOPs in any situation.

He said this is because the present priority is the safety and well-being of the people.

“If any premises are still adamant and violate the instructions by the authorities, strict action including an immediate closure order will be imposed," he said.