KUALA LUMPUR, May 24 — Yang di-Pertuan Agong Sultan Muhammad V today conferred the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong Scholarship (BYDPA)  2017 to 12 students of higher institutions of learning and who will further their studies at the Masters and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) level.

All the recipients of the scholarship who were selected by the BYDPA Committee, Public Service Department (JPA) furthered their studies in the field of science and technology at local and foreign universities.

Six recipients following the PhD courses were James Tan You Sian a student of Material Engineering at the University of Oxford, United Kingdom; Christina Parvinder Kaur a Medical Science student at the University of Malaya (UM);  Fakhitah Ridzuan a student of Information Systems Management at Universiti Sains Malaysia (USM); Mohd Fadhli Abd Rashid (Civil Engineering, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia); Iffa Farahin Jeepery (Biochemical, USM) and Leong Xin Yun (Molecular Biology, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom).

Meanwhile, six recipients for the Masters degree were Daniel Liew Yu Chuan (Civil Engineering, UTM); Heng Wei Khang (Marine Biology Science, UM); Jaezah Adlina Zainal Azman (Pharmacology and Translational Medical Science, University of Oxford, UK);  Kaif Hilman Muhammad Borhan Tan (Mathematics, University Of Cambridge, UK);  Nur Nadia Che Aziz (Medical Science, USM) and Vinnothini Rasalingam (Electrical and Electronic Engineering, Imperial College, London). — Bernama