KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 14 — The third edition of the Datuk Hamidin Mohd Amin-XMail FC Veterans 9s football tournament is set to take place on September 16 at Ipoh Padang, Perak.

Coinciding with Malaysia Day, this year’s edition will see the introduction of two new additions — an under-16 tournament and the inaugural participation of the Philippines’ Bacolod United.

Organiser Kuala Lumpur XMail Veterans FC said the one-day tournament will see a total of eight invited teams in both the veterans and U-16 categories compete for the coveted Datuk Hamidin Challenge trophies.

Ipoh mayor Datuk Rumaizi Baharin is set to officiate the tournament.


Teams competing in the veterans category for players 45 years and above are, the Kinta Indian Association, Perak’s Lintau FC, Navashini Kuala Kangsar Municipal Council, Selangor’s Melwood Boys, Bacolod United FC, Ipoh City Hall, Navashini Ipoh FC and KL XMail FC.

In the U-16 category, the teams are Black Leopard Kenaga from Kuala Lumpur, My World Hunters FA Football Academy from Penang, Perak’s Klebang Selatan FC, Ipoh City Hall Academy, Dinding Indian Association Sitiawan from Perak, Perak’s Tejarians, CIMB YFA from Selangor and Ipoh Friday Club Academy.

“The teams will be divided into two Groups in each category at the draw at the team managers meeting on September 15 and will play a one round robin in their respective Groups, with the top two teams qualifying for the semifinals.


“The third placed team in the Groups will play in the Losers Pool final,” the organiser said in a statement today.

The champion of the veterans category will receive prize money of RM2,500, followed by RM1,500 for the runners-up while the third and fourth-placed teams will receive RM600 and RM300 respectively, along with medals.

In the Losers Pool final, the winner will claim RM300, while the runner-up will take home RM200, in addition to medals.

However, there will be no prize money offered for the Under 16 category.

All other teams will receive participation medals.

All participants are also eligible for individual awards such as Best Goalkeeper, Top Scorer of the Tournament, Man-of-the match in the Final and a Fair Play Trophy for a team.

The inaugural tournament was held in Kuala Kubu Baru, Selangor in 2021 and inTaiping, Perak last year.