PERLIS, Nov 19 — Perlis, a Barisan Nasional (BN) stronghold for nearly 50 years, has been defeated by Perikatan Nasional (PN) that is set to form the next state government.

Based on unofficial results, the coalition has passed the threshold to form the state government by winning over 10 state seats.

Arau incumbent MP and Umno defector Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim defeated BN's Datuk Rozabel Abdul Rashid and Pakatan Harapan's (PH) Fathin Amelina by a 23,216-vote majority.

Meanwhile, the Padang Besar seat has fallen to PN's Rushdan Rusmi while Kangar went to PN's Zakri Hassan.


In addition, PN won all the state seats in Arau, which are Tambun Tulang, Pauh, Sanglang, Guar Sanji, Simpang Empat.

PN also won in Santan, Chuping, Mata Ayer and Indera Kayangan.

BN won in Beseri and Kayang while independent candidates won in Titi Tinggi and Kuala Perlis.


Eight state seats are needed to form the government. PN has 10 out of 15 seats.