KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 5 — The conditional movement control order (CMCO) will be extended to December 20 for Kuala Lumpur and virtually all of Selangor and Sabah instead of ending tomorrow as previously scheduled due to the high number of Covid-19 cases there, Senior Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob said today.

“Therefore, based on MOH’s risk assessment, it is agreed that CMCO in the whole of Selangor is extended starting from December 7 until December 20 except these three districts — Sabak Bernam, Hulu Selangor and Kuala Selangor,” he said, referring to the Ministry of Health (MOH).

Ismail Sabri said the CMCO will, however, end tomorrow for Putrajaya, Labuan and Penang (except for two sub-districts), Perak (except certain areas), Kelantan (except the four districts Kota Baru, Machang, Tanah Merah and Pasir Mas) and Negri Sembilan (except the districts of Seremban and Port Dickson).


Johor will not have CMCO reintroduced but the four districts of Kota Tinggi, Johor Baru, Batu Pahat and Kulai will now have CMCO imposed from December 7 to December 20.

The full list of locations listed by Ismail Sabri can be viewed here.  

States and locations where the CMCO will be lifted tomorrow will come under the recovery movement control order (RMCO).


“Other states like Terengganu, Pahang, Kedah, Perlis, Melaka and Sarawak remain under RMCO until December 31, 2020,” he said.

Earlier in his press conference, Ismail Sabri said the National Security Council’s special meeting was briefed yesterday on the economic impact on the country if the CMCO is extended.

“It is projected that the country’s gross domestic product (GDP) will suffer losses of RM300 million per day if CMCO is continued. This would cause the labour market to decline, reduction in household expenditure, increase in investment uncertainty, loss of permanent jobs, closure of businesses and other effects whether directly or indirectly.

“Therefore, the government has to be careful and have to consider all aspects in framing any approach to create a balance between taking care of public health and the impact on the economy,” he said, before proceeding to list down the different lifting and extension of CMCO in different states or specific districts or areas.

Ismail Sabri also announced that the police will no longer carry out roadblocks nationwide from December 7 (Monday) onwards, and that there will be no more restrictions from December 7 on travel between states or between districts in the whole country except for areas with enhanced movement control orders (EMCO).

Ismail Sabri also said there will no longer be a limit on passengers in all vehicles, which means that all vehicles can carry the number of persons allowed by the vehicles’ seating capacities.