KUALA LUMPUR, Sept 3 ― Malaysia is not a “one of a kind” democracy where a no-confidence motion is not allowed in Parliament, DAP’s Lim Kit Siang told Umno ministers today.

Supporting Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad’s call for the move, the Gelang Patah MP said opposition MPs from DAP, PKR and upcoming party Amanah Negara are ready to vote against Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak, but need assurance of policy reforms to prevent more abuse of power in the future.

“A close study of the Parliamentary standing orders will show that there is room for moving a no-confidence motion against the Prime Minister, although this is not specifically provided for, if the Speaker upholds the doctrine of the separation of powers,” Lim said in a statement.

The DAP parliamentary leader said variations in democracy do not include disallowing the motion from being moved, responding to a remark by Dewan Rakyat Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia made in the United Nations recently.


“Otherwise, what type of a democracy is Malaysia having and what type of a Parliament is Pandikar presiding over as Speaker?” asked Lim.

During his surprise show at the mammoth Bersih 4 rally last weekend, Dr Mahathir said MPs should move a no-confidence vote in Parliament as the only way to return to rule of law was to remove Najib from power.

He also called on Barisan Nasional (BN) lawmakers to take part in the vote against Najib, but added that the government should remain in the 13-party coalition’s hands afterwards.


In response, Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz told Malay Mail Online in an interview that Dr Mahathir’s proposal is doomed to fail because the system currently does not allow a no-confidence vote against an individual.

The former de facto law minister also said that BN's chief whip ― Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi ― will not allow such a move to take place and will ensure all BN MPs toe the line.

Communications and Multimedia Minister Datuk Seri Salleh Said Keruak had also warned that the entire BN government will fall if a no-confidence vote against the prime minister succeeds in Parliament.