KUALA LUMPUR, May 26 — The third round opt-in registration for the AstraZeneca Covid-19 vaccine closed today after all allocated slots were snapped up within an hour after the registration drive went live despite persisting technical glitches.

Much to the frustration of eager applicants, the Special Committee for Ensuring Access to Covid-19 Vaccine Supply (JKJAV) announced that the appointment booking for the second round of the AstraZeneca Voluntary Vaccine Initiative was now closed in a tweet posted at 1.27pm. 

“Those who are eligible will receive an appointment soon. Thank you for your interest in helping the nation achieve herd immunity,” it said.




On social media, Malaysians looking to register for the voluntary AstraZeneca Covid-19 vaccine were met with frustration and disappointment as they attempted to book their spot after missing out on the first round.


Reminiscent of the first and second round registrations for the AstraZeneca Covid-19 vaccine, the third round opt-in was similarly met with several hiccups within seconds of it going “live” just after noon.

Initially scheduled to go live at noon sharp, the bookings were only opened shortly after 12.20pm which was immediately marred by technical glitches which impeded successful registrations.

Checks by Malay Mail showed that applicants were unable to select their respective state for the designated vaccination centres earlier while others complained of being stuck in an infinite captcha loop.

Coordinating Minister for the National Covid-19 Immunisation Programme Khairy Jamaluddin said last Friday that the second round opt-in will be open to those under age 60 if there were still slots available once registration for seniors closed on May 26.

The AstraZeneca vaccine opt-in was first made available to the public on May 2 but was limited at that time to residents in the Klang Valley.

Registration for its 268,800 slots opened at noon on May 2 and was fully snapped up within three hours.

The second round of the opt-in will see 1.26 million doses be made available. These are open to those residing in Kuala Lumpur, Selangor, Penang, Johor and Sarawak.