GEORGE TOWN, June 11 — The candidate representing the unity government in the upcoming Sungai Bakap by-election will be announced at 9pm tomorrow (June 12).

Unity Government Secretariat chief Asyraf Wajdi Dusuki in a statement today said the decision was made during the Barisan Nasional (BN)-Pakatan Harapan (PH) Unity Government Secretariat meeting held today at Seri Perdana, Putrajaya.

“For the purpose of coordination and standardisation of the by-election machinery, the meeting decided to appoint (PKR deputy president) Rafizi Ramli and (BN secretary-general) Datuk Seri Zambry Abdul Kadir as co-chairmen of the Unity Government Election Machinery Main Committee.

“The Joint Operations co-chairmen for the Sungai Bakap by-election representing the Unity Government of Penang are (Penang PKR State Leadership Council deputy president) Datuk Mohamad Abdul Hamid and (Penang BN chairman) Datuk Musa Sheikh Fadzir,” he said.


The Election Commission (EC) has set July 6 as the polling day for the Sungai Bakap by-election, with June 22 as nomination day, and early voting on July 2.

The by-election is being held following the death of its incumbent, Nor Zamri Latiff, on May 24 due to stomach inflammation.

In the last state election, Nor Zamri, who was the Nibong Tebal PAS president, defeated PH candidate Nurhidayah Che Ros with a majority of 1,563 votes. — Bernama