KUALA LUMPUR, June 28 — The federal government has declared an additional public holiday on July 30 for peninsular Malaysia and the federal territory of Labuan.

Chief Secretary Datuk Seri Ismail Bakar said the public holiday is in conjunction with the installation ceremony of Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah as the 16th Yang di-Pertuan Agong.

He added that the governments of Sabah and Sarawak may declare public holidays in their respective states based on their own laws.