KUALA LUMPUR, Jan 28 — Umno announced last night that former Youth chief Khairy Jamaluddin has been sacked from the party along with former Selangor chapter chief Tan Sri Noh Omar, citing breaches of party discipline.

In addition, former vice-president Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Hussein and former information chief Shahril Sufian Hamdan were suspended for six years, along with Datuk Maulizan Bujang and Datuk Seri Mohd Salim Sharif.

Umno secretary-general Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan said that another 42 members have been sacked; five were from the Pasir Gudang division, nine from the Putrajaya division, two from Tanjung Karang and 26 from Pahang.

“Among their offences were running as an independent candidate, becoming candidates for parties not Barisan Nasional (BN) and being involved in helping rival parties during GE15,” he said in a statement.


Umno vice-president Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled Nordin was announced as the new Johor chapter chief.

The Annual Umno Branch Conference and Divisional, Wanita, Youth and Puteri Branch Committee Elections will be held from February 1 to 26.

The Umno representative meeting and Wanita, Youth and Puteri divisional committee election along with the Wanita executive council, Youth executive council and Puteri central executive council elections will be held simultaneously across the country on March 11.


Registration for candidates to contest in the divisional and central elections will begin on February 13 and close on February 26 at 5pm. More details will be released soon.