KANGAR, Dec 19 — Perlis PAS Deputy Commissioner Rus’sele Eizan took his oath of office as the new State Legislative Assembly speaker during the first meeting of the first session of the 15th Perlis state legislative assembly today.

Mentri Besar Mohd Shukri Ramli nominated Rus’sele which was supported by the state Islamic Religious Affairs, Education, Youth and Sports, Human Resource Development, Information and Non-Governmental Organisations Committee chairman Muhammad Azmir Azizan.

Fifteen assemblymen were also sworn in namely Titi Tinggi assemblyman Izizam Ibrahim (Bersatu), Haziq Asyraf Dun (PAS-Beseri), Saad Seman (PAS-Chuping), Wan Badariah Wan Saad (PAS -Mata Ayer), Muhammad Azmir Azizan (PAS-Santan) and Fakhrul Anwar Ismail (PAS-Bintong).

Also sworn in were Datin Marzita Mansor (Bersatu-Sena), Gan Ay Ling (PKR-Indera Kayangan), Abu Bakar Hamzah (Bersatu-Kuala Perlis), Asrul Aimran Abd Jalil (PAS-Kayang), Megat Hashirat Hassan (Bersatu-Pauh), Wan Zikri Afthar Ishak (Bersatu-Tambung Tulang), Mohd Ridzuan Hashim (PAS-Guar Sanji), Razali Saad (PAS-Simpang Empat) and Mohd Shukri Ramli (PAS-Sanglang).


Rus’sele, 65, said he hoped that all assemblymen would be able to provide insights and conduct themselves with integrity while presenting their arguments throughout the four-day sitting.

In the 15th General Election, the Perikatan Nasional coalition won 14 state seats while PKR only managed to secure the Indera Kayangan seat.

“I will carry out the duty and responsibility to the best of my ability based on the trust that has been given to me to conduct the session,” he said adding that he hoped all parties could work together to develop Perlis despite their differences to realise the hopes of the people. — Bernama