KUALA LUMPUR, Dec 19 — Former Pakatan Harapan parliamentary whip Datuk Johari Abdul was today elected the new Dewan Rakyat Speaker, replacing Tan Sri Azhar Azizan Harun.

The election of the Speaker is the first item on the agenda for today’s special parliamentary sitting.

Other items on the table include a confidence motion on Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, as well as the selection of Deputy Speakers and the swearing-in of all 222 MPs.

Two names had been proposed for Speaker. Johari's was suggested by Anwar and seconded by Deputy Prime Minister I Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi.


The other candidate was Tan Sri Mohd Radzi Sheikh Ahmad, who was proposed by Larut MP Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainudin and seconded by Kota Baru MP Datuk Seri Takiyuddin Hassan.

The two names were sent to the Dewan Rakyat Secretary Nizam Mydin Bacha Mydin on December 5.

Johari won by a resounding 147 votes while Mohd Radzi only received 74 votes.


Johari took his oath of office before taking his seat, facing the assembled MPs.

“I am thankful to the prime minister and the deputy prime minister who respectively nominated and supported the motion to have me chosen as the Dewan Rakyat Speaker. I am also thankful to the MPs who have chosen me during the process to elect the Speaker just now.

“My selection to this post is a very big honour. However, I realise that this is a huge responsibility to the nation. Therefore, I pledge to try my best and to the best of my ability, to fulfill this responsibility given to me to the fullest,” he said.

He believes his past experiences as a diplomatic administrative officer, a businessman, an MP and assemblyman, will aid him in fulfilling his duties as Speaker.

Johari who was elected Gurun assemblyman in 2018, is confirmed to have relinquished that position on December 13.

The Kedah state seat is now considered vacant but will not trigger a by-election as there is less than two years till a state election is to be called.