KUCHING, Oct 23 — Sarawak DAP tonight named the remaining four candidates to contest in the 15th general election on November 19, with its chairman Chong Chieng Jen defending his Stampin seat.

Chong, in making the announcement, said incumbent Dr Kelvin Yii will defend his Bandar Kuching seat while incumbent Mordi Bimol will defend his Mas Gading seat.

He said new face Larry Jabul will vie for the Serian seat.

Chong brushed aside rumours he would swap seats with Yii in the general election.


“I told them this is nonsense,” he said.

“Just to clear all doubts that the candidate for Bandar Kuching is Kelvin Yii,” he said.

“I know this will be a tough battle, but we have to go for it. This is the election to determine our country’s future,” he said.


He said GE15 will determine whether the people want to go back to old Umno ways of government or continue what the Pakatan Harapan (PH) had started when it formed the federal government after winning the 14th general election.

Chong named new face Roderick Wong Siew Lead to contest in Sarikei, replacing incumbent Wong Ling Biu, this afternoon.

Last night he named incumbent Alice Lau Kiong Yieng to defend her Lanang seat while incumbent Oscar Ling Chai Yew for the Sibu seat.

He also announced DAP Bintulu branch publicity chief Tony Chiew Chan Yew as the party’s candidate to contest for the Bintulu seat.

Chan lost to incumbent Datuk Seri Tiong King Sing in the 2018 general election.