KUALA LUMPUR, April 14 — Negri Sembilan state lawmaker Datuk Michael Yek Diew Ching has decided to withdraw from the PKR election for vice presidency, saying that there were too many candidates contesting.

The Chuah assemblyman was among 18 names on the list when nominations closed last Monday.

“It's too crowded. Many people are contesting for the four vice-president positions. So, I withdraw,” Malaysiakini quoted Yek as saying today.

Yek is the only person to withdraw from the race so far, which still has 17 people vying for four vice-president spots.


Leading the list is Selangor Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Amirudin Shari and the Negri Sembilan Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Aminuddin Harun.  

Also in the race are former PKR Women chief Fuziah Salleh, former Perak PKR chairman Farhash Wafa Salvador, PKR communications chief Fahmi Fadzil, and Kapar MP Datuk Abdullah Sani Abdul Hamid.  

Rounding up the VP candidates are: Tanjung Malim MP Chah Lih Kang, Alor Setar MP Chan Ming Kai, Hutan Melintang assemblyman G Manivannan, Setiawangsa MP Nik Nazmi Nik Ahmad, Sentosa assemblyman G. Gunarajah, Bukit Selambau assemblyman R. Summugam, Datuk Seri Shamsul Iskandar Mohd Akin Azan Ismail, Mustaffa Kamil Ayub, Datuk Michael Yek Diew Ching, S. Thiban and MA Tinagaran.


Former Pandan MP Rafizi Ramli will face off with party secretary-general Datuk Seri Saifuddin Nasution Ismail for the the deputy president post, while Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim has retained his presidency uncontested.

Leading up to the polls, both Anwar and Rafizi have called for a fair election where candidates maintain a sense of camaraderie as party mates and do not try to politically assasinate one another despite the large number of members vying for positions.

The PKR internal election is set to happen in a hybrid manner, with online voters voting from May 18 to 20 while the physical election will be held from May 13 to 17.