Kelantan announces MB, his deputy, nine excos’ portfolios

File picture shows Kelantan PAS Commissioner Datuk Ahmad Yakob being sworn in as Kelantan Menteri Besar, May 10, 2018. — Bernama pic
File picture shows Kelantan PAS Commissioner Datuk Ahmad Yakob being sworn in as Kelantan Menteri Besar, May 10, 2018. — Bernama pic

KOTA BARU, May 17 — The PAS-led Kelantan government today announced the portfolios for the Menteri Besar, Deputy Menteri Besar and nine state executive councillors following the mandate given by the people in the 14th General Election (GE14).

The Kelantan Menteri Besar’s Office in a statement today, said Menteri Besar Datuk Ahmad Yakob, who is the Pasir Pekan assemblyman, chairs the Land, Natural Resources, Economic Planning and Finance Committee portfolio, while his deputy Datuk Mohd Amar Nik Abdullah is now Public Administration, Regional Development, People’s Welfare and Integrity Committee chairman.

Ahmad, the assemblyman for the Pasir Pekan constituency, took his oath of office as Kelantan Menteri Besar for the second term before the Regent of Kelantan Dr Tengku Muhammad Faiz Petra at the Istana Kota Lama here on May 10.

Meanwhile, his deputy Mohd Amar, elected as Panchor assemblyman for the second term, together with nine state executive councillors, took their oath of office before Tengku Muhammad Faiz Petra yesterday at the Istana Kota Lama.

Five old faces, namely, assemblymen Datuk Mohamed Fadzli Hassan (Temangan state constituency, as Human Capital Development, Education, Higher Education and Information Technology Committee chairman) and Datuk Mohd Nassuruddin Daud (Meranti — Islamic Development, Dakwah, Information and Regional Relations Committee chairman).

Joining them were assemblymen Datuk Hanifa Ahmad (Pengkalan Pasir — Industrial, Trade, Investment and Entrepreneur Development Committee chairman); Datuk Md Anizam Ab Rahman (Kemahang — Social Unity, Culture, Heritage and Tourism Committee chairman) and Mumtaz Md Nawi (Demit — Welfare, Family and Women Development Committee chairman).

The four new faces appointed as exco members were assemblymen Tuan Saripuddin Tuan Ismail (Selising — Agriculture, Agro-based Industry, Biotechnology, Green Technology and Environment Committee chairman); Azami Mohd Nor (Kadok — Works, Infrastructure and Utility Committee chairman); Dr Izani Husin (Kijang — Municipal, Housing and Health Committee chairman) and Wan Roslan Wan Hamat (Pengkalan Kubor — Youth, Sports and Non-Governmental Organisations Committee chairman).

In the GE14 on May 9, PAS which has administered Kelantan for the past 28 years, won 37 of 45 state seats contested, with the Barisan Nasional (BN) winning eight seats while PKR, PSM and Bebas, all failed to win any. — Bernama

Related Articles