Chris Cornell, Willie Nelson contribute to new Johnny Cash album

Johnny Cash — Picture courtesy of Don Hunstein Sony Music
Johnny Cash — Picture courtesy of Don Hunstein Sony Music

LOS ANGELES, Feb 9 — A new album featuring unknown poems and writings by Johnny Cash that have been turned into songs is set for release in April.

Among artists who created new music for the 16-track album are Chris Cornell, Ruston Kelly & Kacey Musgraves, Rosanne Cash, Alison Krauss & Union Station, Kris Kristofferson & Willie Nelson, Brad Paisley, John Mellencamp, Carlene Carter, Elvis Costello and The Jayhawks.

Forming the basis of the albums are poems, lyrics and letters by Cash, part of what the musician's son John Carter Cash calls a “monstrous amassment” of things that were left behind after the death of Johnny Cash and June Carter Cash, and including a treasure trove of undiscovered writings.

Johnny Cash: Forever Words will be the music companion to the previously released book Forever Words: The Unknown Poems, which features some of the writings that were used for the album.

Among highlights, Forever/I Still Miss Someone features Kris Kristofferson reciting the last poem Cash wrote with guitar accompaniment from Willie Nelson, both lifelong friends of Cash. Ruston Kelly and Kacey Musgraves, a couple in real life, perform To June This Morning, a letter Johnny wrote to his wife, June Carter Cash; and Chris Cornell can be heard in one of his last solo recordings.

The full track listing follows:

1. Forever/I Still Miss Someone — Kris Kristofferson and Willie Nelson

2. To June This Morning — Ruston Kelly and Kacey Musgraves

3. Gold All Over the Ground — Brad Paisley

4. You Never Knew My Mind — Chris Cornell

5. The Captain's Daughter — Alison Krauss and Union Station

6. Jellico Coal Man — T. Bone Burnett

7. The Walking Wounded — Rosanne Cash

8. Them Double Blues — John Mellencamp

9. Body on Body — Jewel

10. I'll Still Love You — Elvis Costello

11. June's Sundown — Carlene Carter

12. He Bore It All — Daily and Vincent

13. Chinky Pin Hill — I'm With Her

14. Goin', Goin', Gone — Robert Glasper featuring Ro James, and Anu Sun

15. What Would I Dreamer Do? — The Jayhawks

16. Spirit Rider — Jamey Johnson AFP-Relaxnews

Related Articles

Up Next