Favourite teams claim easy win in BATC opening matches

Malaysia’s double pair Goh V Shen (left) and a teammate practise ahead of the 2018 Badminton Asia Team Championships in Alor Setar, February 5, 2018. — Bernama pic
Malaysia’s double pair Goh V Shen (left) and a teammate practise ahead of the 2018 Badminton Asia Team Championships in Alor Setar, February 5, 2018. — Bernama pic

ALOR SETAR, Feb 6 —  The Taiwan women’s badminton team trounced Maldives 5-0 in the opening matches of the 2018 Badminton Asia Team Championships (BATC) held at the Sultan Abdul Halim Stadium, Suka Menanti here today.

Taiwan which was drawn in the Group X, scored their first point through Lee Chia Hsin, who beat Fathimah Nabaaha Abdul Razzaq 21-1, 21-8 while Chiang Mei Hui beat Aminath Nabeeha 21-8, 21-11 for the second points.

Third points were delivered by Sung Shuo Yun after defeating Moosa Aminath Shahurunaz 21-3, 21-6.

Taiwan scored the last two points through doubles pair Hu Yi-Ting-Lin Ying Chun who defeated Aminath Nabeeha-Fathimath Nabaaha 21-8, 21-6 and Hsu Yq Ching-Wu Ti Jung after defeating Nafha Nasrullah-Moosa Aminath 21-4, 21-5.

In the Group Z matches,  Indonesia beat Singapore 5-0. The team collected the first point through Fitriani Fitriani who defeated Chua Hui Zhen  21-16, 21-13.

It was continued by Hanna Ramadini who won over Jia Rong Sito by 21-9, 21-5 and followed by Gregoria Mariska Tunjung who beat Nur Insyirah Khan 21-12, 21-16.

Indonesia scored another two points via doubles pair, Della Destiara Haris-Rizki Amelia Pradipta who thrashed Ong Ren-Ne-Crystal Wong Jia Ying 21-12, 21-19 and Anggie Shitta Awanda-Ni Ketut Mahadewi Istarani defeated Nur Insyirah Khan-Bernice Lim Zhi Rui 21-7, 21-17.

India claimed a slim victory against Hong Kong  3-2 in the Group W matches. PV Sindhu collected first point after defeating Yip Pui Yin 21-12, 21-18.

Sindhu partnered Reddy N. Sikki and bounced back to level the point 2-2 after defeating Ng Tsz Yau-Yuen Sin Ying 21-15, 15-21, 21-14 while P. Ashwini-S. Prajakta and K. Sri Krishna Priya lost to their opponents respectively.

Ruthvika Shivani Gadde cheered the Indian camp by scoring the winning point after defeating Yeung Sum Yee 16-21, 21-16, 21-13.

Meanwhile in the men’s team event, Hong Kong thrashed Singapore 5-0 in the Group A matches. Angus Ng Ka Long secured the first point after beating Ryan Ng Zin Rei 21-16, 21-16.

The second point was followed by Vincent Wong Wing Ki who denied Muhamad Elaf Wei Tan 21-18, 21-13 while Lee Cheuk Yiu won over Joel Koh Jia Wei 21-14, 21-17.

Reginald Lee Chun Hei-Tang Chun Man defeated Danny Bawa Chrisnanta-Terry Hee Yong Kai 21-17,22-20 while the winning point was delivered by Law Cheuk Him-Or Chin Chun who beat Lee Jian Liang-Jason Wong Guang Liang 21-12, 21-15.

Korea, who drawn in Group B won over Nepal 5-0 having secured their first three points through Jeon Hyeok Jin who defeated  Ratnajit Tamang 21-6, 2121-11 followed by Lee Dong Keun winning over Sajan Krishna Tamrakar (21-9,21-7) and Heo Kwang Hee beat Bikash Shresta 21-4, 21-6. 

Their doubles Kang Min Hyuk-Chung Eui Seok denied Ratnajit Tamang-Dipesh Dhami 21-7,2105 while Choi Solgyu-Kim Dukyoung collected winning point after defeating Bikash Shresta-Sajan Krishna Tamrakar 21-7, 21-6. 

Japan also claimed their first victory in Group B after defeating Kazakhstan 5-0 through Kenta Nishimoto who denied Dimitriy Panarin 21-10, 21-10 followed by Kanta Tsuneyama who won over Arthur Niyazov 21-11, 21-9 before Kento Momota won easily over Khaitmurat Kulmatov 21-7, 21-4. 

Japan’s first pair Takuro Hoki-Yugo Kobayashi beat Dmitriy Panarin-IkramzhanYuldashev 21-4, 21-11 before they claimed their winning point through Keigo Sonoda-Takeshi Kamura who beat Arthur Niyazov- Khaitmurat Kulmatov 21-8, 21-6. 

Meanwhile, in the women’s team event, Thailand thrashed the Philippines 5-0 in the Group Y matches. Nitchaon Jindapol claimed the first point by defeating Sarah Joy Barredo 21-10, 21-11 while Pornpawee Chochuwong won over Airah Mae Nicole Albo 21-10, 21-4. 

The third point came from Busanan Ongbamrungphan who easily won over Thea Marie Pomar 21-4,21-7. 

Chayanit Chaladchalam partnered Phataimas Muenwong beat Airah Mae Nicole Albo-Sarah Joy Barredo 21-15,21-15 and scored their last point through Puttita Supajirakul-Sapsiree Taerattanachai who denied Alyssa Yasbel Leonardo-Thea Marie Pomar 21-13, 21-11.

The 2018 BATC is the qualifying round for the Thomas and Uber Cup final round which will be held in Bangkok in May this year.

Meanwhile, Indonesia claimed 5-0 over Maldives in the men’s team event Group D by taking first point through Jonathan Christie who won easily over Hussien Zayyad Shaheed 21-3, 21-5 while Anthony Ginting gained the second point when he defeated Ahmed Nibal 21-10, 21-3.

Ihsan Maulana Mustofa secured the third point for the single’s event after winning  21-7, 21-4 over Hassan Afsheem Shaheem. 

The Indonesian pair, Angga Pratama-Hendra Setiawan took another point after they won over Mohamed Arsalaan Ali-Ahmed Nibal 21-8,21-6 while Marcus Fernaldi Gideon-Kevin Sanjaya Sukamuljo defeated Hussien Zayan Shaheed-Hassan Afsheem Shaheem 21-10, 21-10.

Playing in the same group, India faced a dense match against the Philippines before winning 5-0. 

K. Srikanth claimed the first point for his team after he defeated Ros Leonard Pedrosa 21-11, 21-12 while Manu Attri-Reddy B. Summeth made out for second point by trouncing Carlos Antonie Cayanan-Philip Joper Escueta 21-15, 21-13. 

India’s team claimed the third point through B. Sai Praneeth after he defeated Arthur Samuel Salvado by 21-6, 21-10 while the pair,  Arjun MR-S Ramchandran faced a tight match against Peter Gabriel Magnaye-Alvin Morada before they won 21-18, 21-17. 

India hooked the winning point after V. Sameer beat Lanz Ralf Zafra 21-15, 21-12.

Taiwan comfortably won 5-0 over Myanmar in Group C by taking their first point through Tzu Wei Wang who defeated Phone Pyae Naing 21-13, 21-17 followed by Yu Hsien Lin who trounced Aung Myo Htoo 21-19, 21-17. 

Chun-Wei Chen made sure the third point went to his team after he defeated Arkar Phone Myat 21-11, 21-15. 

Another two points were claimed by Hung Ling Chen-Chin-Lin Wang after they won over Aung Myo Htoo-Chan Win Oo 21-10,21-11 and Jhe-Huei Lee partnered Yang Lee to defeat Arkar Phone Myat-Hein Si Thu Toe 21-10,21-15. — Bernama

Related Articles

Up Next