Curfew in ESSZone extended to Oct 29, says Sabah police commissioner

KOTA KINABALU, Oct 13 —The curfew in the waters off seven districts under the Eastern Sabah Security Zone (ESSZone) which ended today has been extended to Oct 2, said Sabah Police Commissioner Datuk Ramli Din.

He said the curfew covered the waters off the Tawau, Semporna, Kunak, Lahad Datu, Kinabatangan, Sandakan and Beluran districts.

“With the curfew, all residents in these districts are required to be in their houses (and outsiders are not allowed to enter or be in the affected areas) between 6 pm and  6 am,” he said in a statement here today.

He said the curfew period was extended to prevent intrusion of terrorists who could threaten the security of international researchers and tourists visiting the resort islands.

Ramli said that based on investigations, the Abu Sayyaf and other militant groups in the southern Philippines attempted cross-border crimes including abductions.

Besides ensuring the security and well— being of Sabahans, especially those who used the waters, he said the curfew was also extended to facilitate enforcement and the monitoring of boat movements to ensure the safety of and to give confidence to chalet operators and fishermen with the presence of the security forces in their areas.

Ramli said he had also authorised all the relevant district police chiefs to issue permits to applicants who meet the conditions for fishing and other pressing needs in the areas under curfew. — Bernama

Related Articles

Up Next